Session of Collective Security Council is on in Minsk

MINSK. June 23, 2006. KAZINFORM /Yernur Akanbai/ Regular session of CSTO Collective Security Council has started its work in Minsk today. Presidents of Kazakhstan, the Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan are taking part in the sitting, chaired by Byelorussian leader Alexander Lukashenko. Uzbek leader has been invited to the meeting as a guest, Kazinform correspondent reports.

At the moment the leaders are holding a sitting in restricted attendance. Delegations of CSTO member countries will join them afterwards.

The heads of the states are expected to debate military and political situation in CSTO zone of action and boosting efficiency of Collective Security Treaty.

In complimentary speech A. Lukashenko stressed, in order to strengthen the organization its members conduct a great deal of work. He informed of active cooperation between CSTO member countries in military and political spheres and commencement of work of interstate commission on military economic collaboration.

"CSTO turns into a significant subject in the system of international security. Currently we entered brand new level of interaction with UN", A. Lukashenko noted.

CSTO comprises Kazakhstan, Russia, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Armenia. Military and political union of 6 countries is confirmed by the Collective Security Treaty signed May 15, 1992. The superior body of the organization is Collective Security Council.