EurAsEC's Council to discuss improvement of community development

The Interstate Council of the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC) plans to meet on 23 June in Minsk, Belarus, the press service of Belarus' Foreign Ministry said in a statement on Thursday.

Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC) is economic union and unites Belarus, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Uzbekistan joined the group on 25 January 2005.

The EurAsEC creation treaty was signed in Astana on 10 October 2000. The organization aims at promoting the creation of the common customs and economic space in the CIS. The coordination of WTO accession efforts of the member countries is another priority of EurAsEC.

The agenda of the meeting includes 18 issues. The most important of them are suggestions to improve strategy and tactics of the EurAsEC development and priority actions of the Community in 2003-2006.

The EurAsEC meeting will also discuss the issue of establishing the Customs Union and the regulations of relations with third countries. The participants will have to address some major issues, including single external customs border with unified rules and a supranational administration to regulate tariffs.

On 23 June the participants will also discuss the draft concept of EurAsEC international activity worked out by the Belarusian side.