EU Widens Sanctions On Libya, Egypt, Belarus

By Samuel Rubenfeld

The European Union extended sanctions on Libya, Egypt and Belarus in three separate actions on Monday, Dow Jones Newswires reported.

Among the new sanctions measures was an agreement to extend the asset freeze and travel ban on Libya (pdf) to 11 extra people and nine more entities, the names of which will be published Tuesday.

“Everything that we do has one objective, and that is to help the people of Libya,” said Catherine Ashton, the E.U. foreign affairs chief, at a news conference, according to the Newswires report.

It’s the second expansion of E.U. sanctions on Libya. The previous extension broadened the sanctions to include a freeze on sovereign assets parked in member states.

The E.U. also froze the assets of ousted Egyptian leader Hosni Mubarak and 18 other officials in his former regime, saying it was freezing “all funds and economic resources owned or controlled by persons identified as responsible for the misappropriation of Egyptian state funds.”

Meanwhile, it also said the E.U. would extend its asset freeze and travel ban on 19 additional Belorussian officials, “in view of the gravity of the situation” there after a contentious election.


blog comments powered by Disqus

Partners: Social Network